President Dr. Cathleen McColgin (Left) Denise Fulmer (Center) and Board of Trustees Chair Isabella Crandall (Right)

Herkimer College Employees Honored with 2023 SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence

Three Herkimer College employees have been honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence for 2023. The staff members were acknowledged during an employee recognition ceremony on May 10 and the 55th Commencement ceremony on May 12.

According to the State University of New York, the excellence awards are designed for faculty and staff who personify professional excellence and serve as role models for the State of New York and the College. They publicly acknowledge superior professional achievement while encouraging the pursuit of excellence.

Denise Fulmer, who serves as an office assistant for the College Advisement and Career Services departments, received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service. Fulmer has been employed at the College for eight years. For the first five years of her tenure, she also served the Counseling Services staff providing support for all three service offices.

“(Fulmer) is a truly student-centered employee, as is reflected in this quote from her nomination: a true testament to Denise’s customer service skills is the countless times students stop in to see her to thank her for her support and help,” Herkimer College President Cathleen C. McColgin, Ph.D. said.

Maryann Wrinn (Left Center) and William McDonald (Right Center)

Maryann Wrinn (Left Center) and William McDonald (Right Center). Pictured with Board of Trustees Chair Isabella Crandall (Far Left) and President Dr. Cathleen McColgin (Far Right)

William McDonald, associate dean of Academic Affairs for the Business, Health, Science & Technology (BHST) division, received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service. McDonald has been employed by the College for 15 years in a variety of capacities. As the BHST division head, McDonald manages over 27 degree and certificate programs and supervises over 60 full and part-time faculty.

“(McDonald) is a consensus builder with a remarkable ability to bring diverse and opposing groups together to reach a common goal,” Dr. McColgin shared.

The SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching was awarded to Maryann Wrinn, professor of Fine Arts. Wrinn is the co-curator of the College’s on-campus gallery and co-chairs the committee for gallery exhibits. She is also an accomplished artist, producing work and exhibiting in local, regional, and national shows.

“(Wrinn) has served as a role model and mentor for her fellow faculty members across all disciplines and programs, bringing a level of innovation to her classes that supports students in making their best efforts and realizing their best work,” Dr. McColgin said.

With the addition of these three employees, a total of 83 Herkimer College faculty and staff have been honored with the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence. A complete list is available at

Mohawk Valley Today Posts

Skip to content